Welcome to the Snurr Research Site!

We are researching how nanoporous materials can (help to) save the world.
We are interested in novel materials such as metal-organic frameworks (MOFs), as well as traditional materials like zeolites that are already widely used in industry. Porous materials with well-controlled structures at the nanoscale can be extremely useful because of their ability to recognize and discriminate between adsorbed molecules. This leads to applications of nanoporous materials in adsorption separations, catalysis, membrane processes, sensing, and energy storage.


    • March 2015: Our paper "Screening of bio-compatible metal-organic frameworks as potential drug carriers using Monte Carlo simulations" was one of the Most Accessed Articles for 2014 in the Journal of Materials Chemistry B.

    • February 2015: The group's work on screening of nanoporous materials for natural gas storage, as part of the Materials Genome Initiative, is highlighted in Chemistry World.

    • November 2014: Yamil Colon received one of this year's Graduate Student Awards from the AIChE Computational Molecular Science and Engineering Forum (CoMSEF). The other winner was Heather Mayes from Linda Broadbelt's group, also at Northwestern. Congratulations to Yamil and Heather!

    • September 2014: Diego Gomez-Gualdron has received the 2014 International Institute for Nanotechnology (IIN) Outstanding Research Award. Congratulations!

    • August 2014: Yamil Colon has been awarded the Chemical and Biological Engineering Department's Distinguished Graduate Researcher Award for 2014. Congratulations! We look forward to your seminar in a few weeks at the Department Retreat.

    • July 2014: Congratulations to Pritha Ghosh on defending her PhD!

    • July 2014: Bhaskar Borah has joined the Physics Department at the Charotar University of Science & Technology in India.

    • June 2014: Randy Snurr is named one of Thomson Reuters' Highly Cited Researchers.

    • April 2014: Congratulations to Diego Gomez-Gualdron on the first prize at the CIERA poster competition at the 2014 Northwestern Computational Research Day!

    (click for past news)